Union County, NJ

Union County New Jersey

New Jersey Gutter is licensed in these municipalities of Union County

Union County, New Jersey

Union County is a county in the U.S. state of New Jersey. According to 2015 U.S. Census estimates, its population was 555,786, making it the seventh-most populous county in the state, having been surpassed by Ocean County. Union County is part of the New York metropolitan area. Its county seat is Elizabeth. The Bureau of Economic Analysis ranked the county as having the 119th-highest per capita income of all 3,113 counties in the United States (and the eighth-highest in New Jersey) in 2009. A study by Forbes.com determined that residents pays the second-highest property taxes of all U.S. counties, based on 2007 data. With a population density of 4,955 people per square mile, Union County was the 15th-most densely populated county in America as of the 2010 Census, and third-densest in New Jersey, behind Hudson County and Essex County.

Union County was formed on March 19, 1857, from portions of Essex County and became the last New Jersey county to be created. Ironically, its boundaries were essentially the same as the original 1664 Elizabethtown Purchase, the first English settlement in the state. The newly formed county consisted of the City of Elizabeth and the Townships of Springfield, Westfield, Rahway, Union, New Providence, and Plainfield, which were once part of Essex County.

Today, Union County is made up of 21 municipalities: Berkeley Heights, Clark, Cranford, Elizabeth, Fanwood, Garwood, Hillside, Kenilworth, Linden, Mountainside, New Providence, Plainfield, Rahway, Roselle, Roselle Park, Scotch Plains, Springfield, Summit, Union, Westfield, and Winfield.